The Codger Stages an Intervention

Ahoy there, all you readers of this here “lifestyle column”. First on my agenda this morning, I must give my compliments to Nancy Grace for last night’s exceptional program. There were numerous bombshells, and I found it riveting from beginning to end. I’ll be right back “BRB”.

That was my telephone. It was my old pal Bill calling to notify me of the news over in his neck of the woods. He sure had a lot to tell me about today. First, the good news: Billy got himself a good deal on some hard candies at the Dollar General. I hope he got the butterscotches. Those are my favorites. Now, for the bad news: His grandson, Haydon (I’m not sure if that’s how you spell that name), is on drugs. I’m just glad that I don’t ever have to worry about that problem with my grandson Max, my grandniece Tricia, or their friends.

I told Billy that I’d do him a favor and find some good anti-drug intervention videos on the Internet to help poor Haydon kick the habit. I found one that I think is excellent. Very well done. You can really see the way that the speaker, Florrie Fisher, is connecting with the young people in the audience. Haydon had better thank his lucky stars that we have videos like this one that young people like himself can relate to:

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alter ebro on November 18, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Ahoy sir!

    I have heard that some drug addicts replace their addiction with another, less harmful addiction, in order to quit the more harmful drugs. I think this holds true for heroin addicts who go to a doctor to receive the less harmful substance called methadone.

    In the case of Haydon, I would suggest trying the hard candies that Billy picked up at the Dollar General. Dang, those candies can be addictive! I have a craving myself for the horehound pieces. Just be sure to get that boy a toothbrush!

    Cheers,

    aE

    Reply

  2. […] About « The Codger Stages an Intervention […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

