More Bad News: R. I. P. Tom Bosley

It’s a sad morning, dear readers. As if the death of Barbara Billingsley was not enough of a tragedy, now we have lost another prominent senior citizen: television celebrity Tom Bosley. I’m nearly too shaken up to talk about it. And Mr. Bosley was only 83! It makes you wonder what’s going on out there in California. Why are the seniors of the Golden State suddenly so vulnerable?   

Let us take a moment to remember Tom Bosley in his prime, doing what he did best: Entertain us. I’m sure most of you young people know Mr. Bosley best from his work on Happy Days, but for my money, those Father Dowling Mysteries were some of the most mysterious mysteries on television, much better than your C. S. I.’s and your Law and Orders, if you want to know the truth. You’d better believe I wrote numerous letters when they took it off the air.

Tom Bosley also sold me my first Studebaker. Not directly, mind you…I bought it from the local dealer in town. But I did watch Tom Bosley’s commercial program for it. That was before he was a celebrity in half-hour programs, so he was getting his start on these shorter programs. Even this early in his acting career, he didn’t “steer” me wrong “L. O. L. Z.!” (I saw my grandniece Tricia spell “L. O. L.” that way, with a “Z”). That was a fine automobile, and Mr. Bosley went on to become a fine senior citizen. Tom Bosley, R. I. P.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on October 20, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Hail fellow! You sure hit the nail on the head today. Father Dowling Mysteries were a treat, almost as much of a treat as Diagnosis Murder, starring the insuperable Dick Van Dyke. Others will say Van Dyke did his best work on his eponymous show, or as Bert/Dawes in Mary Poppins, but I’ll always remember his riveting portrayal as Dr. Mark Sloan. And, of course, it goes without saying that without Dowling, there is no Sloan, not a chance.
    Lets hope what they say isn’t true, and that these things don’t come in threes. R.I.P. indeed.

    Sincerely,
    Charlie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

