Bad News for Your Monday

“G Day, mates” (That’s how they greet each other in Australia, even on days when it’s not actually G Day). Well now…I just got off the telephone with my pal Billy. It was what people in the industry refer to as a “cold call” because I wasn’t planning for it. It was a lot different from my fireside chats, which tend to be quite warm.

Billy, generally speaking, calls me with good news, but today the news wasn’t so good. He told me that the bingo parlor he opened up in his garage was shut down by the police, who had the nerve to refer to it as a “speak-easy barroom”. I never thought I’d live to see the day the government would use its power to shut down an entrepreneur. Just as Billy was starting to turn a hefty profit on his bingo and beer operations, what happens but the police swoop in and shut him down, just as his primarily-senior clientele were in the middle of a game of bingo! How are small businesses supposed to afford the licenses until they’re up and running for a little while? You tell me that!

Oh, and Billy also said that someone he knows died. It was some woman who used to live on his street but then moved across town, so they didn’t see each other much after that. I asked him if her name was Barbara Billingsley, the famous actress who just passed (R. I. P.), but he said that it wasn’t her. That didn’t surprise me, as I would not expect Billy to know any major stars, but I thought I’d ask. I always enjoyed Miss Billingsley’s work, and she lived to be the wonderful age of 94. The “Leave It to Beaver” program she starred in is a personal favorite of mine. Now that was real humor!

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on October 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Hail fellow. My regards to your friend, Billy. And regards, too, to the Billingsley family.

    On the lighter side of things, I noticed that you’ve expressed interest in getting on the show Pickers. If you don’t hear back from them, I suggest contacting the Horders people. Horders is a show about a television crew that hordes all of a person’s possessions into a dumpster and takes it away. I’m sure they pay a pretty penny for the privilege!

    Over and out,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Good day to you, dear friend. Thank you for the recommendation on the Hoarders program. Now I saw a program that involved a dumpster, but I’m not sure if it’s the same one. It might have been, but on the one I saw, I didn’t care for the way they treated the seniors or their valuable collections. It came across to me as extremely disrespectful. You would think that young people would have a greater appreciation for the amount of time and care it takes to collect such a grand collection! And I wish that psychologist they had would have given a much more authoritative lecture to the children on the proper way to treat their elders.

      Best,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

