A Magnificent Quote I Can’t Quite Place

Ahoy! Happy days are here again! As he wrote yesterday, my grandson Max is on his way back home from California. It’s just such a shame that that millionaire threatened to put a damper on the end of Max’s trip. But now that Max has that experience working as a pool boy under his belt, I see no reason why he shouldn’t be able to find a job doing that back here with a more reputable employer. Of course, he’ll keep selling all of his hand-blown glass pipes and bric-a-brac as well, as the arts are his true calling in life. Everyone who’s seen his work knows that’s the truth, as plain as the nose on your face. I’m going to recommend  to my grandniece Tricia’s beau, Derek, that he buy one of Max’s pipes so he doesn’t accidentally set my house on fire making those homemade cigarettes he’s taken to smoking the way he set my trailer on fire.

There’s such a nice quote that’s taken up residence in my head, but I can’t quite place it. It goes something like, “from each according to his ability, to each according to his need”. I think it’s from a Christmas card I received a few years back, but I’ve been looking through my old Christmas cards and can’t find it anywhere.

That sounds like the kind of card my old chum Alva would’ve sent. He always sent that type of card that had a nice message printed inside. I would call him to see if he remembered, but he passed some years ago. Maybe my son Brian was right when he insinuated that I was losing my memory. I just can’t place that quote, but its author should be quite proud of himself.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on October 10, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Hail fellow well met! It’s a shame that millionaire has pervasive developmental disorder, one of the most alarming flaws of the current generation. But like you said, I’m sure M-fixie will land on his feet–and probably as a poet if I had to guess–but that’s just me.

    Also, I wouldn’t worry about not being able to place that quote. I think it’s from a folk song, and one never knows where those lyrics come from anyhow.

    Health and happiness,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • A pleasant evening to you, Mr. Charlie. I’m not sure that young Max has ever tried his pen at poetry, but I shall recommend it to him. With his creativity, how could he fail? I was understandably disappointed to hear that that millionaire fellow was responsible for ending their previously-successful business relationship, but it’s like they say: You don’t get to the top without breaking a few bones. If that’s not a strain of perv. development disorder, I don’t know what is.

      I certainly hope that that quote is not from some of that “folkie” music. If those folkies had their way, everyone would be swinging down the street so fancy free, and where would we be then? No, they should have focused their resources on writing about shame and modesty instead.

      All the best,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

