Happy Birthday to the Common-Law Mrs. Codger, Who Is Good Enough to be My Wife

Good morning this Saturday, dear readers. Well, the big day is finally here: The common-law Mrs. Codger’s birthday. Now I’m not going to divulge her true age, so I’ll stick with the age that she likes to say she is: 49. “Happy 49th birthday, Mrs. Codger” (I will tell her that in person so that she won’t find out about this “lifestyle column”).

As I predicted, I decided to get her some of her favorite perfume, Triangle Perfume. After all that flooding, I had to rush out yesterday and pick some up at the store. We’re also going out to an intimate dinner at that expensive Starbucks café they just opened. Never tried it before, but I’ve heard about it. They say they have food and coffee, and the coffee is their specialty. And they’d better have dancing there. What kind of nicer restaurant doesn’t have dancing?

In honor of the missus’s birthday, I’d like to dedicate this musical video to her that I found on the YouTube video search engine. It’s  a song by the very beautiful country music singer Jeannie C. Riley called “Good Enough To Be Your Wife”, because, like the song says, the common-law Mrs. Codger is good enough to do my cooking and good enough to be my wife.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on October 2, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Hail fellow well met. You, sir, are indeed a class act, but I must admit I raised my eyebrows over your song choice today. I never much cared for feminism, nor my marriage, but that’s just me. I would have preferred to reign over a harem of women chosen from my garbage route.

    Sincerely,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Ahoy there, Mr. Charlie. I suppose I had never thought of this song as pro-feminist. Well, if feminism means having a leggy brunette singing about doing my cooking, then I’m all for it!
      Best,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

