The Codger Gets Flooded

Hello to you, loyal reader (if you are one). If not, hello to you anyhow. I generally try to get my articles published onto the Internet in the morning, but today I got delayed. With all those storms we had overnight, the water came into my basement. It’s a good thing I took my authentic decorative Tiffany lamp out of there the other day, so at least that didn’t get damaged! Unfortunately, I had to spend all morning instructing my neighbors on the right way to bail water and hook up the pump into my basement. You would think that since they own the pump they would know how to work it, but that turned out not to be the case.

Once they finally got going, I went upstairs to listen to my police scanner to make sure they weren’t sending out the rescue squad for me. That would be a complete waste of resources. I don’t need recuing. I’m completely self-sufficient, just like the pioneers were. The scanner had a story about blocking off some streets closer to downtown, but as long as they keep mine open, that’s good enough for me. I’m a tax payer.

Once they finish getting all that water out of my basement, I’m going to have to go down there and find my waders so I can dry them out. And I’ll turn my ceiling fan on. If not, it’ll get moldy as last week’s bread. When it gets to that point, it’s a complete loss: You can’t even make bread pudding out of it. If it’s just stale, fine: You can make bread pudding. But not if it’s moldy. You don’t want to be eating that mold.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

