The Grand Finale of My Liquor Store Trip

Good morning again, audience members who have elected to attend our little round table discussion today. When I left you yesterday, I was telling you about my voyage to the liquor store, where I came across some very suspicious young people. But I didn’t tell you how the story ended—that’s what we professional writers call a “cliff-hanger”. You readers love them. In case you weren’t with us yesterday, I’ll get you up to speed with a little recap of exactly what you missed:

“As I was parking my car in the lot, I took notice of some youths loitering near the façade of the building. That’s never a good sign of anything good to come, but I decided to go in to get my gin, since I had driven all the way there.

So I got out of the car and tried to make a go for the front door, but my presence did not go unnoticed. One of the youths said something to me, something along the lines of “hey” or “hi”. In the overall scheme of things, it’s only a few words from “hey” to “can you buy we underage minors some booze?” Well I would want no part of such a scam. I had brought along enough money for my gin and not a penny more, and I wasn’t about to go wasting my hard-earned money on gifting alcohol to those juveniles. So I nipped that conversation right in the bud and did not speak to those young people. Then, when I was trying to pay, there was a rather buxom woman in front of me, and she was taking too long. To be continued…”

And now for the ending: That buxom woman took too long to pay, but she did eventually. And when I got outside, those suspicious youths were gone. The end.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alter ebro on September 29, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Ahoy Codger,

    Great story, bro. Tomorrow are you going to add that you woke up the following morning and realized that your whole lifestyle column was all just a dream?

    Best,

    aE

    Reply

    • Good evening, Alter Ebro,

      Glad to hear you enjoyed the end to my story. I believe the plot device to which you are referring is known as a “red herring”, but I was planning to return tomorrow with a new story of what happened to me today instead. I can assure you it will be equally entertaining.

      Kind regards,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

