Exemplary Codgers: Jean-Baptiste Charles Bouvet de Lozier

Salutations and greetings, readers. When I was getting ready to go to retire for the evening yesterday, I was thinking to myself, “You know what? It has been a while since I’ve talked about an Exemplary Codger.” Without Exemplary Codgers, who do we have to look up to? Yes sir, that’s why we need ‘em.

Today’s Exemplary Codger is Jean-Baptiste Charles Bouvet de Lozier. Would you just look at that name? It’s magnificent! If that name doesn’t say “Exemplary Codger”, I don’t know what does. That alone would have been enough to qualify Bouvet (that’s the surname part of his name) as an Exemplary Codger, but according to his article in the Wikipedia encyclopedia, he pulled himself into his bootstraps and practically raised himself after being orphaned at age seven. Then he managed to sweet-talk his boss (the manager at his local French East India Company location) into letting him borrow two of his ships to go traipsing off into the South Atlantic on an “exploratory mission” in 1739.

BOUVET

Here’s where it gets good. While on that little jaunt, he stumbled across an island: The most remote island in the world, Bouvet Island. He didn’t even record its position accurately, so when another sailor, James Lindsay, happened upon the island later, he named it after himself: Lindsay Island. But because Bouvet was such an Exemplary Codger, they eventually changed the name back to Bouvet Island even though Bouvet was wrong and Lindsay was right. I bet Lindsay was miffed. Oh, and it’s under Norwegian sovereignty these days. Who would have thought that? And another thing: Bouvet himself went on to serve the good people of the Mascarene Islands as their governor twice, from 1750 to 1752 and then again from 1757 to 1763.

No one lives on Bouvet Island, but it looks like there’s some radio towers and a weather station. Oh, and don’t even try to dock your boat there. It’s too unapproachable, and even if you do dock, it’s just a bunch of cliffs and ice. No wonder no one lives there.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on September 22, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Hail fellow, and good morning. It’s good to see that there is someone who remembers the great explorers. I often wonder why there aren’t any famous explorers today. You would think the job would be easier now that cheap maps are available in all the supermarkets. But I suppose that’s the least of this lily liver generation’s problems.

    As ever,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Hello to you, Mr. Charlie. I’ve often found myself wondering the same thing. But there must still be some explorers left, because at one point, I attempted to take matters into my own hands and posted my resume’ to the Dutch East India Company. They never called me back, so I take it they’re inundated with applicants. And I’m not going to be a global explorer if I have to foot the bill myself! Someone has to pay me.

      Best wishes,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

