Exemplary Codgers: The General


A good morning and a hello, dear readers. When I got out of bed this morning, I noticed the common-law Mrs. Codger standing on the other side of the room doing something. Normally this wouldn’t be out of the ordinary—she’s always standing around doing things—but I realized that she should’ve been at work. Then she reminded me that we have to go to my son Brian’s beach house because it’s Labor Day weekend…or, to be more precise, I should say “bay house”. He probably couldn’t get his hands on a real beach house if his life depended on it. At least I’ll have my granddaughter Fiona there to talk to. I sincerely hope Brian doesn’t try to take us to Atlantic City while we’re down there…from what I hear, it’s like a police state these days, minus the police force.

A Portrait of The General from http://www.thegeneral.com/


Since I’ll be living under my son’s hawkeye all weekend, I probably won’t have the privacy necessary to write articles for this “lifestyle column”. So that’s why I’ve decided to leave you with an Exemplary Codger to read about all weekend. In honor of Labor Day, I would like to nominate The General and thank him for his military service. The General is probably known to you from his popular television programs such as this one, where he co-stars alongside a penguin:

As he writes on his Blog, The General (whose last name appears to be classified military intelligence, and appropriately so) is also a licensed insurance agency that has been recognized for having excellent financial stability. As he likes to say on the TV, “For the best car insurance rates online, go to The General and save some time”. He also says on his Blog, “Our policy and claims service organizations are focused on serving the customer to complete the recipe for success.” And succeed he has. His military campaigns have been second to none, and that is why, on this Labor Day weekend, we should all take a moment and give thanks to The General for serving his country.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on September 3, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Good morning fellow. Thank you for telling us about The General. You will be missed, but at least we’ll have something else to read.

    I’m sorry to read about your juicer. That’s why I don’t bother with making anything for my wife anymore. I fix my meals, or she fixes us both. Maybe you can “borrow” you-know-who’s, if he even ever managed to get one, so that you can continue with your health regimen.

    Over and out,
    Charlie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

