Juicing the Entirety of my Victory Garden’s Harvest


Good morning and welcome back. Now that summer is drawing to a close, my victory garden is producing at full capacity. Squash, Bermuda onions, lettuce, tomatoes, bell peppers. I’ve been eating salads with every meal all week, but how many salads can you eat? Rather than let all those vegetables go to waste, I came up with a viable Plan B.

I took out my juicer, the one I bought for $10 at a yard sale. Then I fired her up and started throwing in the vegetables, bushels and bushels of vegetables. It didn’t matter what order they were in, I just juiced them all and let all the juice run together. When the juice started to run clear (or run out), that’s how I knew that one vegetable was done and it was time for another. I bottled my juice up, and I had to get it cold quick so that it wouldn’t spoil. I had to throw out the contents of the top shelf of my refrigerator to make room for all the bottles!

As a special gift for the missus, I decided to make her a special bottle of juice with a special ingredient: Her chocolate-flavored calcium chews, which are for ladies only. I suppose if ladies’ sports ever catch on, they’ll chew those instead of tobacco like men do. Anyhow, I threw five or six of those calcium chews into the juicer and they gummed the whole thing up! Now it completely shut down and I can’t get any juice out of it at all. I’m thinking that this is probably a security feature of the juicer and that it’ll start up again after cooling down for a few days. If not, I just hope that the shelf full of juice I made is enough to tide me over until I can get another juicer.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

