Another Exciting Discovery in my Victory Garden


Greetings to you, dear readers, on this beautiful Friday. While I was outside digging in my victory garden yesterday, I unearthed a pleasant surprise. While I am accustomed to coming across abundant humus deposits in my soil, I was taken aback when I discovered some natural clay. That victory garden is certainly turning out to be a horn of plenty! Not wanting to let it go to waste, I crafted a plan to take a little “staycation” (that’s what they’re calling “vacations” nowadays) and make some pottery.

First you have to knead the clay so you get all the air bubbles out. If you don’t, you’ll be breaking with a tradition that dates back thousands of years, and you wouldn’t want to do that, now would you? Once you’ve kneaded your clay, then you have to make your vessel. Since I don’t have a kiln, I decided to fire my clay in my oven. To keep it tidy, I used the self-clean mode. Somewhere along the line, I must have done something wrong, because my pottery fell apart. It may have even exploded a bit. Oh well. You live and you learn. Next time, I’ll have to try it in the microwave and see if it works any better.

Do you know what I was thinking yesterday? I was thinking, “I haven’t heard from my grandniece Tricia lately.” So I sent her a text (txt) on my cellular phone, and she sent me a text saying that she had some good news. But right then and there, I had the idea that she should save her good news for all of us and Blog about it here tomorrow. I know you all always love hearing her unique perspective on the world, and I know you’ll be happy to share in her good news. I am looking forward to hearing what it is. I wonder if she got a scholarship to the University of Phoenix. I wouldn’t be surprised in the slightest.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

