The Codger’s Inspirational Kitchen “Reno”


A good day to all my dear readers on the Internet. I hope that you had an enjoyable weekend and that no ill fortune befell you or your kin. I spent a considerable portion of my weekend contemplating my latest home renovation, or “reno”, in order to maximize its inspiration level for the rest of my neighborhood. What I came up with was to reno my kitchen by installing an island. The reason why I decided on a kitchen island is that my kitchen table is too small for me and my lady contractor to effectively work on building my miniature Space Needle, a project whose inspiration level for the neighborhood, once completed, will be too great to be measured.

There are several ways one can go about adding an island to a pre-existing kitchen. There have to be two parts: the support mechanism and the top. You can experiment with different colors and materials: Wood, metal, concrete, granite, tile…nothing is off limits. Of course, everyone has already thought of all those materials already, so I had to be more creative.

That’s why I came up with my own idea for an island. I went into my “great room” and moved my set of folding TV trays into the kitchen. Then I opened them all up at once and pushed them all together in the middle of the kitchen to form an island-like structure. I bet no one thought of that idea before! In a way, it’s almost a form of recycling. Now me and my lady contractor won’t suffer from a lack of “space” when constructing my “Space” Needle.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on August 23, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Hail fellow well met. It’s good to see you’re making progress on your latest project: raising the level of your neighborhood. I wish you swift success.

    I don’t have cable, so I haven’t been able to watch Nancy Grace’s program. But I did an internet web search for “Nancy Grace,” and several search results were along the lines of “Nancy Grace Owned.” Someone who has built such a vast empire of personal property must be worth hearing out, so I’m considering adding a cable subscription to my household.

    Onward and upward,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Ahoy Mr. Charlie,

      Yes, adding cable to get the Nancy Grace program more than justifies the added expense. I find it refreshing to watch a TV personality stand up for victims’ rights first and foremost over all other rights. Given the success of her program, I wouldn’t be surprised to find out that she’s a member of the landed gentry class and owner of multiple properties. I’m sure she would never let her properties enter a state of decline!

      Best,
      The Codger

      Reply

  2. Hi Codger.
    You must have a fairly large kitchen. If I put an island in mine I could hardly walk around it, ha ha! My reno is my deck, which is in the back of my house, but it desperately needed to be torn down and rebuilt with wood that is not rotten! I am having my front porch painted while I’m on vacation, so you would appreciate that if you live on my street. Right now my front yard is all torn up with big holes where the plumber is going to install new water piping to my house, as the existing pipes broke and were spewing expensive city water all over my driveway. Well, that’s life. I’m off to see my granddaughter, clear across the country on the east coast!
    The Hamster

    Reply

    • Hello Hamster,

      That is good news on both accounts: Best wishes on your home “renos”, and enjoy your visit with your granddaughter. It’s like that famous quote says: “Children are the future”, which is why it’s so rewarding to spend time with them now.

      Ahoy,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

