Train Travel Used To Be Better


I extend greetings and salutations to you, dear readers. You young people amongst you are always complaining about how we old-timers only like to talk about the good old days, as if we’re divorced from the reality of the present day. This is not the case at all. Folks like myself just choose to live in the past because it serves as a reminder of how much better it was.

Back then, commonplace activities were of a more genteel nature. Take, for example, travel. You would board a train and the conductor would greet you personally and the skycap would help you with your luggage in exchange for a reasonable tip. And when I say “reasonable”, I mean reasonable. And then the beautiful stewardess would stop by and feed you French peanuts by hand. Not regular peanuts…French peanuts, the good kind. Then, if you were lucky, she would whisper to you her phone number, but you had to listen close because it could get loud on those trains. You only had one shot, because if you missed it, she would move on to the next Tom, Dick, or Harry sitting right next to you.

The last time I took a train, I noticed a kid with a rucksack. I thought to myself, “that kid is a mule”. Probably smuggling either drugs to the hippies or uranium to the communists. They called it the Cold War, but there was nothing cold about it. Passion ran strong and tempers were at their fieriest. Now if I had been traveling with my Geiger Counter at the time, I could have tested the kid for radioactivity myself and no one could have stopped me, but I had left it at home. Still, after that time, the glamour was gone, so that’s why I now steer clear of the train.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on August 19, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Hail fellow. You paint a vivid picture, just as I remember it. Thanks for taking us back!

    Kind Regards,
    Charlie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

