An Update on Max, Tricia, and My Shrimp


Ahoy out there, you people on the Internet. Have you been wondering about the progress of my home-grown shrimp? The good news is that I’ve developed quite an attachment to them, and they’re safe and sound. I’ve been monitoring the water quality in their hatchery and feeding them daily. The bad news is that they’re still far shy of “jumbo” sized. I had hoped by now they’d be big enough to fry them up, but they’re not there yet. All in good time, all in good time.

Another thing I thought I’d do today is provide you with the service of bringing you up to speed on the globetrotting activities of my grandson Max and my grandniece Tricia. I spoke with Max on the phone a few days ago, and he told me that he’s sold nearly all of his glassware out there in Mendocino County, California. I asked him what his best-selling “big ticket item” was, and without hesitation he said it was his tobacco pipes. And I can see why: They’re more like art than a pipe; why, I would not be surprised if many of them end up in curio cabinets out there in old Mendocino and never get used at all. Max told me that he’s getting ready to travel down to San Francisco shortly; I said to be sure to let me know when he’s good and settled in so he can write another “guest blog” chronicling his travels. I told him to take his time and enjoy himself; his voice sounded a touch raspy and lethargic, but that’s what the open road does to you.

And as for Tricia, she sent me a text message yesterday that said, and I quote, “HEY we r back in kansars now doing good. Missori popos suck. thx 4 letting us borrow trailer <3 ya.” I’m glad to hear she and her friends Derek and Jessica are adjusting to their new surroundings. I’m assuming they parked the trailer in her family’s yard. Do any of you know what popos are? That buzzword is new to me.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on August 15, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Hail, fellow! Great to hear the little ones are doing well. If Max sounds lethargic to your ears, that’s probably because the west coast is known for a laid-back style of living, and it must be rubbing off on M-fixie. Kudos to him for getting an authentic experience!

    In response to your question, I did an internet web search and found the meaning of “popo.” As it turns out, po po platter is a popular ethnic dish that’s made by Chinese minorities. I’m sure Tricia could tell your readers how the Chinese worked on the Pacific Railroad in none other than Missouri. I don’t know why the dish wouldn’t be good there, though. Maybe she just misses you and Mrs. Codger.

    Health and happiness,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Ahoy, Mr. Charlie!

      Thank you kindly for passing along that info on the po pos. It all makes sense now…back when Tricia and her friends were out in the trailer, I recall seeing the local Chinese take-out making a delivery to them, so she must be a real Chinese cuisine aficionado. Perhaps cooking with Missouri water does something to the flavor that just doesn’t agree with her tastes. I never would have suspected that the Chinese made it all the way to Missouri! You learn something new every day!

      Have a grand week,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

