Spinning: Just A Fancy Name For Stationary Bicycling


A mighty “hello” to you, my audience. I hope you enjoyed my grandniece Tricia’s report yesterday. I appreciated how she opened up and expressed herself…very refreshing to hear that coming from a young person. I do hope she’s not getting too homesick, though. That is one of the major problems facing teens today: homesickness.

For the last few months, I’ve heard the common-law Mrs. Codger casually mention her “spinning class” in conversation, usually when I’m trying to watch something on the TV. This whole time, I thought she had taken up using a spinning wheel so she can knit me some slippers. Well, you can picture my surprise when a truck pulled up outside my house yesterday and unloaded a box into my driveway. Inside that box was a stationary bicycle, and the missus’s name was listed as the recipient.

It turns out that “spinning” is what they’re now calling what they used to call “stationary bicycling”. Why the name change? Anybody can ride a stationary bike, so they’re probably just trying to make it sound fancier than it really is. The only thing that’s spinning is your legs. It’s just going to lead to a lot of confusion and people showing up for those classes with spinning wheels in tow. And who’s going to make me those slippers I’ve been wanting? The missus said that she’d buy me a pair of slippers when she gets paid, but that’s not until the end of the week. I could catch a chill by then, as could many others who are suffering in silence: This new kind of spinning could lead to a swath of ill health across the country.

The only placed we had room for her new stationary bicycle was in my great room. The way it’s positioned, now you can’t even open up the davenport without moving it halfway across the room. What’s the point of a davenport if you can’t open it up whenever you want? At least the missus then made me a red velvet cake, the real red velvet (not the kind with all that red food coloring in it).

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on August 8, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Sounds like you really need red velvet slippers to go with your cake. No chill there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

