Celebrating My 100th Anniversary


A good day to you, my loyal subjects. It’s hard to believe, but today I am celebrating the 100th anniversary of my “lifestyle column”. Yes, that’s right: I, along with a little help from my grandson Max and my grandniece Tricia, have brought you 100 articles telling you how to live your life the right way (The Codger way). During that time, our little round table discussion group has grown together, and I became the Commander in Chief I always have been. We’ve honed our computer skills, we’ve found new role models, we’ve proven the hippies wrong. As we celebrate this momentous occasion, let us take a walk down memory lane, remembering the articles that changed your life…

The article that started it all, The Codger entered into the world of blogging with a lot of pep: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/04/24/welcome-aboard/

I gave quite possibly the best green advice I ever gave, telling you all you need to know to “go green”: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/04/27/the-codger-goes-green/

One magical day, a colony of bees moved into my mailbox and straight into my heart: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/05/07/mailbox-beekeeping-my-delightful-new-hobby/

I got my juicer: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/05/15/juicing-with-the-codger/

I told you how to dismantle a dam and encourage spawning: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/05/16/teaching-the-younger-generation-about-the-importance-of-spawning/

I exposed the truth about Woodstock, which is that the hippies ruined it: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/woodstock-the-hippies-ruined-it/

I tried to make a funnel cake with Batter Blaster and Mister Steamy: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/trying-to-make-a-funnel-cake-with-batter-blaster-and-mister-steamy/

I live blogged my colon cleanse: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/live-blogging-my-colon-cleanse/

I took Max, Fiona, Tricia, Derek, C. J., and Jessica camping and we feasted on pipinkis: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/06/26/feasting-on-pipinkis/

I exposed the outrage known as panda diplomacy: https://thecodger.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/we-can-only-rent-pandas-not-buy-them-and-its-too-expensive/

What are your favorite Codger moments to-date? What would you like to see The Codger write more about in this “lifestyle column”? How would I go about eliminating the competition? Share your thoughts in the comments box.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on August 3, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Good morning and congratulations on your centenary, fellow! Thank you for helping everyone get up to date on your tremendous achievement. I had browsed the archive, but I missed a couple of these.

    Firstly, I have to say that your plan to destroy the Grand Coulee Dam is one that you-know-who in charge ought to take seriously, especially now since he’s all but ruined the Gulf and its food chain.

    I look forward to more posts about your home experiments, family, and political and historical analysis. Also, I find the live blog form to be especially captivating.

    Onward and upward,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • A good morning to you as well, Mr. Charlie.

      First off, thank you for your support over the years. You know how it is: When you get older, suddenly society thinks that it’s just fine and dandy to start casting you aside and neglecting you. Thank goodness for the Internet, where we senior citizens can congregate and support each other and the senior agenda. You know what? You’re right–My plan for the Grand Coulee Dam should be followed to the letter by the government! And I should do another live blog one of these days. Since I still haven’t been able to secure a bee-proof Web cam, maybe I should live blog my bees’ daily activities. Or my own daily activities (on a non-colon cleanse day).

      All the best,
      The Codger

      Reply

  2. […] Posted December 7, 2010 by thecodger in codger, Uncategorized. Tagged: advice, anniversaries, blog, blogging, codger, codgering, codgers, S.E.O., Search Engine Optimization, senior citizen bloggers, senior citizen blogs, seniors, SEO, the codger, the codger blog, thecodger, wordpress. Leave a Comment Ahoy, dear readers. In my haste to bring you all the latest and greatest news, I neglected to celebrate the 200th article of this “lifestyle column”. That is why today I will be observing the 204th anniversary of this Blog with a retrospective of some of my finest works since my last centennial anniversary (100th). […]

    Reply

  3. Thanks to my father who told me about this web site, this webpage
    is truly remarkable.

    Reply

  4. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your website?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a
    little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

