Coming Soon: The Codger’s Shrimp Shack

Greetings to you on this fine Sunday. Thank you for clearing your schedule to make time for The Codger. I had expected to spend part of today frying up my home-grown brine shrimp, but they’re not ready yet. At the rate they’re growing, they’ll probably need a few more weeks until they’re jumbo. I did some research and I came across a helpful Blog that has some useful tips, such as a special recipe for brine shrimp, as well as shrimp etiquette. As far as I can recall, I don’t remember Miss Manners giving any advice on the subject, so I was happy to find this. Wouldn’t want to be uncouth when eating my first harvest! Did you know that when eating skewered shrimp, you should “slide the shrimp off onto a plate (even if it is a paper plate at a cook out). Skewered shrimp should never be eaten like a corn dog”? I didn’t know that! And when you’re eating fried shrimp, it’s acceptable to use your fingers. I did know that. Everyone knows that, or at least they should.

Once my shrimp are ready, I expect the dinner to go something like this commercial I’ve been seeing for Joe’s Crab Shack, but with shrimp, and with me, The Codger, in the starring role instead of Joe:

Obviously, there will have to be some other minor changes to the script. My version will go something like this:

I'm doing the brine!

I'm doing the brine!

I'm doing the brine!*

I'm doing all three!

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

*photo linked from The Inquisitr

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on August 1, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Hail fellow! I had a bit of a health scare and wasn’t near the computer for a time, but it’s been enjoyable catching up with you and M-fixie during my convalescence.

    I see you’ve started a new project. Don’t be discouraged, by the time those brine shrimp are jumbo, you’ll have a mailbox full of honey to cover them with.

    Over and out,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Ahoy there, Mr. Charlie. I was beginning to get a bit worried about you…I thought maybe you had evacuated on account of that tropical storm down there! But I’m glad to hear that you’re back riding high in the saddle again. I’ve noticed there’s been a wave of ill health going around the nation, so you are certainly not alone.

      But yes, during your hiatus I entered the shrimp farming business. I made a hatchery and got the eggs, and it’s up and running. Honeyed shrimp sounds delicious to me. I believe that’s the type of food they call “sustainable” because it give you lots of energy to get you through the day.

      Wishing you a speedy recovery,
      The Codger

      Reply

Leave a Reply

