My Shrimp Will Be Quite Happy in Their Perfect pH Water


Happy greetings to you. Like I was telling you about yesterday, I was heading off to the pet store to get some brine shrimp eggs so I can raise my own shrimp. I also picked up an airstone and a pump since, once I saw them in the flesh, they were different from what I thought they were and I didn’t have them just sitting around the house. The pet store didn’t sell testing kits for hard water, but they did have tests for pH, so I picked up one of those.

My next stop was the hardware store, where I picked up a test for hard water. I also saw a bottle behind the counter. I asked the clerk about it, and he said it’s a highly-potent drain cleanser called Clobber and they only sell it to professional plumbers. That’s all I needed to know: I had to have that Clobber. I told him that I’ve never called a professional plumber because I meet all my plumbing needs myself. I said, “I even have a drain snake out in the car to prove it.” (I was bluffing). Young people are so indecisive. They need to be told what they want. I told him that he wanted to sell me the Clobber, but even that didn’t work. The next time my drain gets clogged, there I’m going to be without the Clobber. It’s true what they say: Sometimes there are no easy answers. At least I’m not alone: This blogger had a difficult time until he found a store that was willing to sell it to him, but now he’s in the pink and has an unclogged sink. He’s even in the process of negotiating an endorsement deal for Clobber!

When I got back to the house, the first thing I did was test my water. I’m not one to boast, but my tap water has perfect pH. You can’t find perfect pH straight out of the tap just anywhere, and I’ve got it.

According to the other test, my water has some PPM’s in it, but I don’t think they’re a serious threat. Then I set up the airstone I bought. It runs like a top. I just plugged it in and away it went. You wouldn’t know it unless you had it underwater, though. With their delightful abode completed, it should only be a matter of time until my shrimp hatch into a delicious dinner (I’m counting on them to be ready in time for Sunday dinner).

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Coco on July 29, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Dear Mr. The Codger –

    You need a fish store, not merely a pet store, I’m afraid, if you want to keep your future dinner alive long enough to eat. If there isn’t one in your area, aquarium testing kits are available online.

    If I missed the point completely, I accept my mocking with grace.

    Reply

  2. Good evening Ms. Coco,

    Yes, you have my assurance that I have researched the subject thoroughly online on the Internet before setting my shrimp eggs loose in their hatchery. I may have forgotten to mention it because I was so overcome with having perfect pH, but I also bought some chemicals that balance the water and get rid of all the chlorination, so my brine shrimp should be hatching in no time flat.

    Best,
    The Codger

    Reply

Leave a Reply

