Tricia’s Birthday Had Its Highs and Lows


Good morning to you, dear readers. Well I suppose after yesterday’s article, I am obligated to tell you the nitty-gritty of what happened at my grandniece Tricia’s 16th birthday celebration yesterday, which I will now do. The evening started well enough, but if you are inclined to become overly emotional, I would skip the last paragraph.

Tricia, our birthday girl, ordered a Shirley Temple cocktail, and they made it with real maraschinoed cherries! I ordered a stinger. Hadn’t had one of those in years. For the toast, I told everyone the story of how they used to throw 16 year old virgins into volcanoes, so Tricia had better watch out! Derek and Jessica and Tricia all found my toast story very amusing. They were laughing so hard that I couldn’t even finish the toast!

When the waiter came around to take my order, I told him I wanted the beef with lyonnaise all over it. My son Brian, who was sitting next to me, said, “Dad, you’re talking nonsense again! Now tell the waiter what you want.” And I told Brian, “Lyonnaise. It’s right here on the menu.” And I put that menu right in front of his face so he could see that I knew exactly what I was talking about. And boy was that lyonnaise good. As a matter of fact, I’m going to make the switch from mayonnaise to lyonnaise from now on and order it on everything.

After dinner, it was time for Tricia to open her presents. Her friend Jessica got her a beautiful necklace. Jessica’s boyfriend Derek said that he had Tricia’s present waiting for her in the pop up trailer at home. Brian, his wife Tammy, and their daughter Fiona got her a gift certificate (I’m sure that was Fiona’s idea). I know that Tricia had been telling me she wanted a corset like the model Bettie Page used to wear. I decided to find her a more age-appropriate substitute, so I got her what is known as a “Spanx Girdle” (the lady at the store said that all the women on TV wear them nowadays, even Oprah Winfrey, and it’s much more modest than Bettie Page’s corsets). Tricia became very upset when she took it out of the box, so we decided to skip going to see Twilight Eclipse and went right home. Later that night, I went out to the pop up camper to check on Tricia. The door was locked but I heard some noise coming from inside, so I’m guessing that she was talking out her problems with Derek and Jessica. Good for her—she’s such a level-headed girl.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Charlie on July 18, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Good afternoon! It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend with your family. We don’t get to see ours much since we moved to Florida in 1976.
    It’s swell that Tricia, Jessica, and Derek get along so well. I wouldn’t worry about Tricia’s reaction to your gift. Spanx might not be summertime clothes, but she’ll be happy she has them when the season changes.
    Health and happiness,
    Charlie

    Reply

  2. Good afternoon to you, Mr. Charlie. Yes, it’s been a treat having Tricia visiting with us this summer. Normally, I don’t get to see her very often since she lives way out in Kansas. And I’m sure she’ll calm herself soon. She seemed most concerned that everyone thought she was husky on account of receiving the Spanx Girdle, but I told her that all women used to wear girdles until, collectively, they decided to let themselves go a few years ago. Perhaps your family can take advantage of the discounted hotels and visit you in Florida later in the summer. If not, you’re always welcome to take my son Brian and his wife Tammy off my hands for a few weeks!

    All the best,
    The Codger

    Reply

  3. Dear Codger,
    In our previous correspondence, you had mentioned you were going to see The Eclipse.
    I recall you were quite excited about this given you enjoy films of the macabre nature, such as The Eclipse and The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari.
    I’d be interested in reading a review of your experience at the film. I trust there were no disturbances of kids hootin’ and hollarin’.
    Yours in Friendship,
    Wesley.

    Reply

    • Hello, Mr. Branderson,

      Unfortunately, after the Spanx Girdle debacle, we scrapped plans to go see The Eclipse and went home instead, so I still have yet to see it. But being retired, I should have some free evenings this week, so I’m thinking I’ll treat the common-law Mrs. Codger to a nice evening out and take her to the movie theatre. If you recommend it as strongly as The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, it should be wonderful.

      Regards,
      The Codger

      Reply

  4. […] Tricia is back on speaking terms with me again, after her expression of disappointment at receiving a “Spanx Girdle” as a birthday gift. I thought it seemed the young, modern equivalent of the Bettie Page corset she asked for, but I […]

    Reply

  5. […] werewolf, isabella, horror, scary films. Leave a Comment Good morning, dear readership. At the request of reader Mr. Wesley Branderson, I have decided to provide you with my review of the film Twilight Eclipse. If you’ll recall, I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

