Advice for the Young People Who Displayed a Lack of Respect for The Codger


Hello to you today, dear readers. I hope you slept as well last night as I did on my brand new mattress. Today I’d like to share with you the story of what happened to me yesterday. Yesterday, after installing my brand new mattress, I was feeling hungry around 4:55 P. M., like I am prone to do, so to keep my blood sugar up I went to Wendy’s Restaurant for dinner. There used to be a ritzy restaurant on that site years ago. I think it was called Hedwig’s, or one of those names like that. I had never eaten at this particular Wendy’s Restaurant before, so I thought maybe they might have made it a little nicer because there used to be a fancy restaurant there, but they didn’t. It looked just like all the other Wendy’s Restaurants I’ve ever been to.

I ordered a hamburger and some chili and sat out front by the window so I could watch my Town And Country in the parking lot. The hamburger was nice and lean. They used to make the chili out of the scraps of hamburger meat that got left on the grill so that nothing went to waste. I don’t know if that’s what they still do, but that’s how they used to do it. And you’ve got to have saltines. That’s what makes it good. Why would you eat chili without saltines in it?

Everything was going fine until some young people came in and sat at a table near mine. They had the whole restaurant to sit in, but they chose to sit there. I could hear them talking about me almost as soon as they sat down. And then they started blowing the paper off the ends of their straws right in my general direction. I stood up and gave them a disapproving look, and then one of them said something to me. I couldn’t hear part of it, but I’m sure he was back-talking me. I’m not saying that all young people have this type of attitude problem, but this is proof that some of them do. Shape up, young people, before it’s too late!

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marla on July 16, 2010 at 11:10 am

    That’s terrible and so VERY rude. Not all young people are like that.

    Marla @ http://www.asthefarmturns.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • Hello, Marla. Thank you for voicing your support. I know for a fact that my grandchildren and my grandniece are nothing like those kids I encountered at the Wendy’s Restaurant. I keep telling them that they’re the hope for the future.

      All the best,
      The Codger

      Reply

  2. Posted by Charlie on July 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Good afternoon! Sorry to hear of your experience. I know school is out, but do kids have nothing better to do than loiter at a Wendy’s restaurant? You know what they say, “Idle hands are the devil’s tools,” and they say it because it’s the truth. They should all get jobs, but not before they clean up the mess they made. I saw an ad just yesterday, in The Pennysaver, for a rock and roll family from Akron that can never have enough street teamers.
    Over and out,
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Hello, Charlie (I presume Charlie Bros.). The last time I passed through Akron, it seemed like an industrial city: Not the kind of place where young people should be running around willy-nilly. I recall that TV program about a rock and roll family, the ones that went everywhere in a bus. They seemed like such nice people. I wonder whatever happened to them. I hope they didn’t run into financial difficulties. Buses can be real gas-guzzlers, and might even be subject to the luxury tax.

      The Codger

      Reply

      • Posted by Charlie on July 16, 2010 at 5:55 pm

        shhhh! I don’t want to use my last name on the internet! Plus I don’t think it was a good fit with the gimmick.

  3. How rude! Teenagers are so annoying. I know I wasn’t like that when I was younger. And it wasn’t that long ago.

    Reply

    • A good afternoon to you, Thoughtsappear. Your commitment to an outanding lifestyle is to be commended. I congratulate you.

      Best wishes for the future,
      The Codger

      Reply

  4. Posted by alter ebro on July 21, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    As I read your entry, I imagined you using the following pronunciation for speaking the word ‘restaurant’: REST-runt. This differs slightly from my ‘east coast way’ of saying it: rest-uh-rawnt.

    Am I far off base with this interpretation?

    Reply

  5. Ahoy, Alter Ebro,

    Thank you for stopping by my “lifestyle column”. I’d say that REST-runt isn’t far off the way I pronounce it, although I’ve been here on the east coast for going on fifty years. As far as I’m concerned, why bother with more syllables than you really need?

    Best wishes,
    The Codger

    Reply

  6. Posted by alter ebro on July 21, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Ah, well, upon further retrospection, my east-coast vernacular may be slightly tinged by my southern upbringing (or vicey-versy.)

    Now knowing that you are an east-coast gentleman, I am going to take a stab in the proverbial dark, and guess that you must be from NJ. (no offense)

    Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

