My Grandson Max is Going to California


A fine day to you, ladies and gents. I have some good news for you. It’s official: My grandson Max will be embarking on a trip to Mendocino County and San Francisco, California next week along with my grandniece Tricia’s friend C. J. I think it’s marvelous that he’ll be seeing the country and making money at the same time by selling his glassware. Since he’ll be traveling on a budget and staying at campgrounds and at friends’ houses (just like his favorite author, Jack Kerouac), I told him I’d be happy to get him some supplies for his trip at the Bass Professional Shop tomorrow. He can pick out a tent and some rations, and I’ll have a look around for some deluxe birdseed for my bird feeder! I’ve never been there before, and I am greatly looking forward to it. I’ve noticed several people wearing Bass Professional Shop caps. If people are willing to endorse it by wearing its logo on their person, it must be quite a shop!

While I am gone tomorrow, I am entrusting the house to my grandniece Tricia (with the oversight of the common-law Mrs. Codger). I’ve asked her to post a “guest blog” article on a topic of her choice. Her writing has really come a long way since she’s been studying under The Codger’s tutelage this summer. I must say she’s been a very bright student. We’ve been studying grammar this past week, so I expect to see some complex sentence structures when I check in on this “lifestyle column” after I arrive home tomorrow night!

Well, I’m off to go gas up the car for the big trip so I won’t have to do it tomorrow. Here is a quote by Sitting Bull for you: “When I was a boy, the Sioux owned the world. The sun rose and set on their land; they sent ten thousand men to battle. Where are the warriors today? Who slew them? Where are our lands? Who owns them?” Those are profound questions for you to ponder as you go about your daily routine today.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

