The Codger Discovers a Delightful Music Video By Toni Braxton


Ahoy there, my neighbors in the Internet community. As you’re aware, I try my hardest to patronize local businesses I believe in, which is most of them except for those check cashing places. I don’t know who goes to those. When you have a check, you take it to the bank, and they don’t charge you anything to cash it like those check cashing places do. But somebody must be going to them because they sure have gotten popular in the last couple of years.

Well now, yesterday I was patronizing my local thrift store. They always carry a nice selection of hardware, and they keep it so organized. And the prices are exceptional. I think what happens is that somebody buys a hammer, uses it once, returns it, and the thrift store buys it. It’s a perfectly good hammer, as good as new. Well, after I picked out the hardware and pants I needed, I checked out and headed for the pharmacy. I would have been back home sooner, except there was a lot of traffic, I assume because at that time of day, a lot of people were out on their lunch break.

When I finally made it home, I unpacked my bag and realized that there was a music disc in with my hardware. I hadn’t purchased a music disc, so it must’ve fallen in the bag, unless the store was giving them away as a free gift for shopping there like the gas stations all used to do. They’d give you free keychains or glasses, but most of them have stopped doing that. When I was paying the clerk @ (at) the thrift store, I noticed that the counter area where you go to pay was awfully cluttered with a lot of items, so I believe the disc accidentally fell in. It’s called “The Heat” by the female rhythm and blues singer Toni Braxton, and being a great lover of music, I played it on my home compact disc player right away. It seems like the kind of music that appeals mainly to young people, but I found it very enjoyable myself. Here is a music video for one of my favorite songs on the disc, “He Wasn’t Man Enough”. It’s got a good beat, and I like the lyrics:

She sings, she dances, she can be a cartoon. This young lady can do it all! That’s how all the greats do it: They do all three things. I heard music blasting out of my grandniece Tricia’s friend Derek’s Camaro when they got home last night, and now I’m thinking that it may have been this very song. I’m going to ask him about it today. He seems like the type that would appreciate good music like this. Wouldn’t that be some coincidence if it was this song he was playing? Life works in strange ways sometimes.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mr.Saeed on July 6, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I am a teacher of English. I hope see you read and write comment in my blog.See you there

    Reply

  2. Posted by brory on July 14, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    i hope you returned that compact disc!

    Reply

  3. Dear Brory, while I was out running some errands a few days ago, I dropped by the thrift store with the intention of returning the disc. But the clerk was so gracious that she insisted I keep it. What a gem she is! A real gem. Her bosses should be thankful they have such a remarkable employee working for them.

    The Codger

    Reply

Leave a Reply

