Exemplary Codgers: Rigoberta Menchu


Good morning to you and yours. Relax and stay awhile…but not too long, because I’m leaving to go camping in a few hours. We’re taking my new trailer out on its maiden voyage. I found a campground up in the Poconos that has internet access, so I’ll be able to keep you all updated on our goings-on all weekend. But before I leave, I’d like to leave you with an Exemplary Codger for your reading enjoyment: the Nobel Prizewinning Rigoberta Menchu.

The reasons why Rigoberta is an Exemplary Codger are numerous. First and foremost, she ran for the Presidency of Guatemala even though she had no chance of winning. I’ve thought about running for President myself, just to give me something to do (That was before I started this “lifestyle column”, which now keeps me occupied). She managed a respectable 3% of the vote, which is more than most write-in candidates and Ralph Nader generally get. I’m still holding him responsible for killing off the Chevrolet Corvair. I wrote a letter to the editor of my local newspaper at the time entitled “Safe at Every Speed”, but they didn’t publish it. I should know: I drove that car at nearly every speed and was a very safe, satisfied customer. I only had that car for two years though, because that’s how everybody did it back then: You drove your car for two years and then you bought a brand new one.

Rigoberta is also an advocate for low-cost generic Mexican pharmaceuticals, something that all senior citizens can appreciate. She’s been a U.N. Goodwill Ambassador, a position I would imagine probably involves receiving some type of medallion.

Additionally, the Wikipedia encyclopedia reports “Rigoberta is also a member of PeaceJam, an organization whose mission is ‘to create young leaders committed to positive change in themselves, their communities and the world through the inspiration of Nobel Peace Laureates who pass on the spirit, skills, and wisdom they embody.’” That sounds just like me (with the exception of the Nobel Peace Laureates part)! She received that Nobel for her human rights work back in Guatemala, although some have said that she made up parts of her autobiography. I say that as an Exemplary Codger, Rigoberta has the human right to embellish parts of her story to make it more interesting to young people. Also, there’s a fair chance that she can’t remember parts of her life story any longer, and she’s doing the best she can. It happens to the best of us.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

  1. information you provide is very good and interesting, thanks for the information and best friendship

    Reply

Leave a Reply

