My Buddy Hiram’s Visit


Hello to you, my fine readers. I trust that you’re doing well. I had my old buddy Hiram over last night. The common-law Mrs. Codger insisted on going to that blasted senior center again and Tricia went out with her group of friends. I didn’t want to sit at home by myself all evening, so I gave Hiram a call and he came over. His wife’s a nice lady, but she gets bad angina and retains a lot of water, so she doesn’t get out much. But Hiram’s a real firecracker, as sharp as the day I met him over 40 years ago.

We decided to sit out on the porch and we wanted something cold to drink on account of the humidity. I made us some old fashioneds in my new juicer, and then we got to sitting. Hiram loves to complain about Medicare, but I always get him good: I ask him, I say, “If it’s so bad, why don’t you just cancel your Medicare?” That really gets him fired up good! You should see him!

Around 7:30, we went in to get ready to watch Nancy Grace’s program. Hiram was just clicking around the TV and that commercial came on for Electrolux, the one that uses the song from Bewitched. Whenever I hear that music, I don’t know if I’m going to be watching Bewitched or if it’s Kelly Ripa trying to sell me a refrigerator.

This ad could be confusing to older seniors, especially because Kelly Ripa is the spitting image of Elizabeth Montgomery and the storyline is more or less the same. I told Hiram to make sure his wife doesn’t fall for it! Boy did he get fired up!

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

  1. This is a beautiful ads. It does make me happy! Thanks for sharing and Thanks for stopping by our Homewarming :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

