“Dilbert”: Good for Compost, Not Much Else


Hello there, dear readers! I’m glad to be back with you today after my grandniece Tricia took over the reins yesterday to present her essay about someone she admires: The model Bettie Page. Even though I wholeheartedly agree with her selection of Bettie Page and her writing was excellent, I was forced to give her an “A-” because I noticed a few minor spelling errors. She really did a good job using the Wikipedia encyclopedia to the fullest, and I also learned that “<3” means “heart”, which means “love”. Interesting stuff there, Tricia! Keep up the good work, you go-girl!

One of the advantages of living in the Internet era is freedom from that “Dilbert” cartoon that runs in the newspaper. Well, that’s what I thought, but I was wrong. “Dilbert” is also on the Internet. I just googled it on Yahoo and that’s how I found it. I don’t see anything funny about that cartoon. I’ve never laughed from it. Not once. I especially don’t like that dog in it, Dogbert. Why is he allowed to go into that office? You’d think that because he gets to go in an office he would be nice, but he’s constantly being rude–without being funny.

I also dislike the characters with ridiculous hairstyles. I don’t know if you’re familiar with the cartoon, but there’s a woman with hair shaped like a huge triangle, and a man with hair shaped like cones. And that’s the extent of the joke: The woman with triangle hair shows up, and you’re supposed to laugh. The man with the cone hair shows up, and you’re supposed to laugh. I say that humor requires a punchline! The writers of “Dilbert” should study the “Nancy” and “Family Circus” cartoons…now those writers can write a punchline because they’ve been doing it long enough to know the right way! By now, they’re probably senior citizens just like myself! As society’s most esteemed members, we’re in a position to tell people what to think is funny. I showed “Dilbert” to my grandson Max to see if I was off-base, and he failed to see the humor either. I’ve been printing them out off the Internet just so I can recycle them in my new compost bin.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Dilbert is very specific in its humor. It’s for people who work in offices, just as Apartment 3G is for … well, I honestly have no idea who reads Apartment 3G. Speaking of comics, here’s some completely useless trivia to impress (or annoy) your friends:

    Lois, Hi’s wife, is Beatle Bailey’s sister. (Hi and Lois is actually a spin-off of Beatle Bailey.)

    Reply

  2. Hi Codger: I must differ with you on the Dilbert thing. I think he is very funny. You have to suspend reality a bit when reading comments by Dogbert Catbert and Ratbert. Don’t think of them as animals. However, humor is definitly subjective, so what is funny to one person is not all funny to another. That’s ok. Good for you in getting your niece to write. I missed her article. I always had a hard time getting my kids to write in complete sentences. They do great now, but the twitter and whatnot that is “shorthand” writing is taking proper english and grammer down the memory hole I’m afraid.
    Hamster comments

    Reply

Leave a Reply

