The Rue McClanahan Tribute Golden Girls Parody


Dear readers, hello, how are you? I have to thank my grandson Max (A.K.A. “M-Fixie”, because he’s a fixed gear bicycle enthusiast) for E-mailing me a link to a new viral video clip that he thought I might be interested in writing about because it’s in my field of expertise. It’s a lovely comedic tribute parody of one of my favorite actresses of all time, the late, great Rue McClanahan, star of The Golden Girls. At first I was a little apprehensive because it said “triple X” in the title, but after watching the clip, it’s all in good fun, and there is no nudity, so I’d say that it’s more like what they used to call “Vaudeville Burlesque”. Remember, the Blanche character was always known for being on the risqué side. You can judge for yourself. Here it is:

To be honest with you, I prefer this new theme song to the original. The lyrics are more emotional, and the singer’s voice and phrasing are simply beautiful. The actress that reprises the role of Blanche is Diamond Foxxx, and I’d say that she more than does Rue justice. And the actress that plays Sophia, Rachel Love, has the same deadpan delivery that made Estelle Getty famous. The storyline is a bit hard to follow, but I suppose that’s a consequence of younger people’s reduced attention spans. The situation comedy programs that always used to be a half-hour can now be done in one minute and 46 seconds. And they call that progress.

I’d like to think that if Rue McClanahan were still with us, she would appreciate this loving tribute to her. I know her health was poor in recent years, so maybe that’s why she wasn’t able to star in those Sex and the City movies. When they make the next one, they should cast Rue’s heir apparent, Diamond Foxxx, as a character to carry on Rue’s tradition. That would be a nice thing for them to do. And as for you, my dear readers, I will always be here for you, hoping to keep you surprised and delighted with this daily “lifestyle column”: As the Golden Girls parody theme song says, “Every time your door unlocks, I’ll be standing there with my big box, waiting for my chance to blow you away. I’m just so happy that you’re you”.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

