Introducing Honey to the Bees


A good day to you all. Today, I would like to update you on my mailbox bee colony. Unfortunately, when I inquired with the fellow at the Radio Shack, he told me that they don’t make a “Web Cam” specifically designed for outdoor bee monitoring. I’m not going to waste my hard-earned money on some Web Cam and have it fail just because it wasn’t made specifically for bees. That’s how the manufacturers get you: They make you think that electronics are good for everything, but then when you try to use them for the one thing you want to use them for, they don’t work and the manufacturer’s warranty is voided.

Yesterday, I went out to check on the bees and see if they’ve made any honey yet. Now as I mentioned to you last time, I’d been thinking that they might “bee” mason bees or carpenter bees, but I’m still not convinced. Something about them makes me think that they want to produce honey, but they’re not sure how. Perhaps their queen died and they’re looking for a new role model. As their human steward, it is my duty to step in and fulfill the void.

That’s when I got the idea to show them some honey and beeswax to give them the idea what to do. So I poured some honey on top of and inside the mailbox, and I inserted a wax candle as well—the honey acted as nature’s adhesive, sealing it safely to the mailbox’s interior. If my bee students are as smart as I think they are, they’ll be churning out honey any day now. Remind me to tell you about my new compost heap I started up. You can never have too many projects, that’s what I always say.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

