Trying To Re-expose the Kathie Lee Sweatshop


Ahoy there, readers. I’m still outraged from writing to you about the BP oil spill the day before yesterday, so I thought I should write about another corporate scandal today. I spent all morning researching the Kathie Lee sweatshop online to re-expose it, but I can’t find anything. It doesn’t even have a Web site. What kind of business these days doesn’t have one? One that’s trying to fly under the radar, that’s what kind.

Kathie Lee was off the TV for years and years, and then suddenly she’s back on the Today Show. They even created a special hour devoted just to her, known as the Fourth Hour, although there is another woman on it, Hoda something, I believe her name is. You’re not going to tell me she made this remarkable comeback without child labor. Of course, we all know that celebrities get to play by a different set of rules than the rest of us.

Like I said, the details are scarce, but I was able to find one picture that I believe shows the Kathie Lee sweatshop:

It’s on a Web site called “Discount Babies”, where they’re auctioning off some of Kathie Lee’s child laborers to help pay her legal fees. The bidding is already bid up to $176.99. While that may be an excellent price, I find it hard to believe that it’s legal to sell laborers over the Internet, especially child laborers. Dear readers, I urge you to break the cycle by not bidding on these child laborers. If you want to set a good example for Kathie Lee to follow, hire your own laborers and make sure that they’re not working in a sweatshop!

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by amyblam on June 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I’m still so upset about the oil spill that I can’t get pissed about much else right now.
    Thank you for the words of wisdom about the eagle and the quarter!

    Reply

  2. […] right there in her store. The children hold full creative control (this is the complete opposite of the Kathie Lee Sweatshop); did you see the gold leather suit and that dress with zippers all over it that those kids came up […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

