Teaching The Younger Generation About the Importance of Spawning


Glad tidings, dear readers. I hope this article finds you well. As part of my “lifestyle column”, I feel as though I have a social obligation to my younger readers to point out members of your generation behaving properly, swimming upstream in a society awash with downstream morals. Clearly, Nancy Grace already gets the job done when it comes to pointing her finger at young people no one should look up to, people like “Tot Mom”, “Church Mom”, and “Joran Van Der Sloot”. Nancy, if you’re reading this, I just want you to say that you’re a wonderful mother to your two beautiful twins. Also, when you unleash the lawyers, Sue Moss needs to be on every night. Her rhymes really get her point across effectively.

Well, I had the pleasure of meeting one of the good young people yesterday evening, a young lady named Jennifer. We actually met electronically, over the phone…a sign of the times, I suppose. I hadn’t been expecting a call, but I was won over quickly, as she articulated clearly and introduced herself immediately, two things that make phone conversations much easier for everyone involved. Jennifer asked me a series of fascinating questions about my political views, and she listened thoughtfully as I gave my answers. I’m not sure exactly how she got my phone number or knew that I have an interest in politics, though I’ve got a hunch it was due to my reputation in the community for staying up to date with news and current events. The conversation never had a chance to grow dull; as soon as I finished talking about one subject, Jennifer had another question she was dying to ask me. At the end, she thanked me for my time. I was so impressed with her demeanor that I forgot to ask for her phone number or E-mail address, though I’m sure she’ll call again soon the next time she feels like discussing news and politics.

I saw a TV program about removing dams on TV a few days ago, and I’ve been researching the subject heavily on the Wikipedia encyclopedia. Dam removal helps fish swim upstream to spawn (an essential process). The Pacific NW is an area in need of assistance, as my research has found that androgynous fish like salmon and Steelhead have proven unwilling or unable to climb fish ladders to get over the dams. We need to send a strong message and take out the big dog first: The Grand Coulee Dam, the largest concrete structure in the States (and thus, by logic, the biggest obstacle to fish migration). Beautiful, isn’t it? Unfortunately, it’s also preventing fish from spawning, so it has to go. Some might miss it when it’s gone, but if we can get them to remove that dam, we can get rid of any dam, leaving the fish free to spawn. We have two options: We can either do it now or let erosion take its natural course.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cardboardshell on May 17, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Your blog is amazing. I don’t even know where to begin. I enjoy the hell out of your wit and humor, and I guess I’ll just leave it at that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

