Juicing With The Codger


Aloha, dear readers (meaning “hello”, not “goodbye”). Well now, I can’t claim to speak for all of you, but as for myself, I was up with the sun this beautiful morning. I got busy right away, taking a few hours to sit on my porch and listen to the melodious sounds of the warblers at my bird feeder. Not wanting to lose any momentum, I next took some time to listen to my police scanner to get a handle on the day’s top stories. The big one today was that there was an automobile accident in front of the Shell, and I’ll just bet that it was because of that ridiculous construction zone they have going on over there. I do my best to avoid it at all costs, and I really can’t blame somebody for getting confused by the whole thing and going into the wrong lane. It’s a complete mess. What they should do is detour everybody behind the Shell. That would take care of the whole problem. Of course, the people that live in those huge new houses back there would complain, so that’s not going to happen any time soon.

Afterwards, I decided to enjoy the weather and take a walk. This is around 8:20 or so. Mrs. Platt down the street was having a yard sale, so I stopped to take a look. She’s a nice lady. I don’t know what she does, but her husband sells insurance, and they send their kids to Catholic school. Now I believe the other lady there was her sister, but don’t hold me to that, because I could be wrong. The sister was selling her old juicer. If you’ll remember, I’ve been considering purchasing the Montel Williams/Sylvia Browne juicer off the TV; this was a different brand, but the sister was selling it for only ten dollars. Ten dollars! And it was barely used! That would be a bargain at twice the price, so I made the purchase.

Arriving home, I thought that a freshly juiced beverage would lift my spirits after my disappointment with my homemade Japanese rice wine yesterday. It was still morning, so I thought I’d go with a morning drink and concoct my own interpretation of a personal favorite: Clamato®. I started by juicing some cherry tomatoes and then juiced some canned clams. If you’re going to try this yourself, be sure to do it outdoors, since the smell can be overwhelming. When I stirred it all together, it was on the watery side, so I stirred in some ketchup (for thickness) and some bottled Clamato® (for flavor) and sent the whole thing through the juicer again. It was nothing like commercially available Clamato®. Nothing like it. It certainly took some getting used to, but it’s true what I say: There’s nothing like a glass of freshly juiced Clamato® to open up your sinuses and prime your stomach. I think this recipe will knock the judges off their feet at the county fair this summer.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

