The Codger: Back In The Saddle


Happy day! It’s good to be back after yesterday’s unexpected hiatus. You’re certainly owed a full explanation. Well, I was on a hot streak at Harrah’s playing the quarter slots, so I decided to keep playing overnight. I was also enjoying the company, as my fellow gamblers seated around me were quite interested in hearing me tell them about this column. Why, I wouldn’t be surprised if this Web page got a lot more “hits” courtesy of my grassroots efforts. Also, I’d like to thank my grandson, Max, for filling in for me yesterday. I think, by and large, he did a fantastic job, and I appreciate that he did not dumb it down to pander to his audience. His writing style reminds me quite a bit of a young James Joyce. The boy’s got it, that’s for sure. It’s comforting to know that the Codger family’s future legacy is resting soundly on his shoulders. What did you like best about young Max’s column? I’ll have to spend some time exploring all these new additions he made to my blog roll! Can’t wait to “expand my mind”, as they used to say.

I’ve been noticing lately a new series of commercials that depicts senior citizens in a positive light, for a change. They’re for the travel blog Travelocity.com. While they don’t use actual senior citizens, they do use a very similar gnome. He has a long white beard, and gnomes can live to be hundreds of years old. He sings a catchy ditty that goes “Da-da-da-da-da-de-de-de! I need to get out of here!” The gnome has an appealingly dry sense of humor, much like myself, if I do say so myself.

An area where I excel past the gnome is in my sense of style. In analogy form, gnome is to trench coat as The Codger is to my airbrushed tiger t-shirt. Recently, I was wearing my well-worn tiger t-shirt at the bookstore when a hep young chap complimented it. He said that I should keep “rocking it”. Those are the exact words he used, I distinctly remember. “Rocking it”. I suppose it does take a certain panache to pull off the look. He then took my digital photograph for his style blog and wrote down the name of it on a piece of paper, but I forgot to take it out of my pocket before washing my pants. Dear readers, if you see my photo on any of the style blogs you frequent, you will drop me a line, right? I appreciate your dedication. Also, with all this talk of travel, I’m thinking of going on Spring Break. Any suggestions? A word of caution: I won’t consider any destinations where there have been any purported Nessie sightings (for example, Loch Ness). What’s the word on Daytona Beach these days? Not seeing any user reviews of it on Amazon. I don’t want to go to some 1-star shite-hole.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

