Welcome Back, Codger


Good afternoon! It’s great to be back after my exhilarating first column. In case you’ve forgotten – well, you should try a Gingko Biloba supplement “LOL!” But on the off chance that you did not read my first column, I am The Codger, and this is my new “lifestyle column” for a more senior demographic. Of course, if you’re a young person reading this, I certainly won’t turn you away. Maybe you’ll even learn something from it!

One of the misconceptions that you young people today have about senior citizens is that we’re out of touch. This is simply not the case. As a counterexample, lots of seniors are contributing to the media. Whereas troublemaking young people like those scantily-clad hussies on “Dancing with the Stars” nearly ruined the media’s reputation forever, older people like Judge Judy are working very hard to reclaim its good name. Me and the common-law Mrs. Codger tune in to Judge Judy’s program every day. We especially get a kick out of the commercials for the Bulldog Lawyers dot com. Have you seen it? It’s the one where there’s the song that goes, “Bulldog Lawyers (DOG BARKING SOUND) Dot Com”, and when the dog barks, a cartoon bulldog comes on the screen. Always get a kick out of it!

Anyhow, this being the electronic age, I decided to hit the World Wide Web to see if there was a viral fan community for that commercial. There is. A fellow blogger, named Ed, doesn’t like my favorite ad so much. He wrote a blog and vlog entry about his reaction to it: <i>INSERT LINK HERE</i> http://eplacencia.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/bullcrap-jingle/ Alright, Ed, don’t get so worked up! It’s just an ad! As you can see, I’m still trying to figure out how to link my blog to his (not in the blog roll), but I’m not so good with computer programming yet. Can’t be too careful when it comes to identity theft, that’s for sure! Those f@cker$ will do anything to get their hands on your sensitive information.

I’ve decided to conclude my column today with a quote from the late, great Harriet Tubman: “I never ran my train off the track, and I never lost a passenger.” I ask you, dear readers: How many passengers have you lost? Take a moment to reflect. Who in your life have you fallen out of touch with? I say, reach out to those people. It’s never too late to rebuild a failed relationship. Don’t give up…ever.

Until next time!

Ahoy,

The Codger

Leave a Reply

